Relationships and ME

Standard

Relationships are a fundamental part of the human condition. Indeed, it is impossible to be healthy and grow as a person without positive interaction with others. Just think of the importance of nurturing relationships with infants. By and large, they are a two way street; each with its unique characteristics. I’ve had cause recently to dwell upon the importance of relationships in promoting recovery.

I had a visit from a friend I hadn’t seen for over 20 years. It was a surprise. The visit was lovely, full of intelligent, interesting conversation. A prize beyond rubies. I felt buoyed and looking forward to the next occasion. It hasn’t happened. I have realised that, with notable exceptions, this is a familiar story. I am left with a sense that I am less of a person than I had been pre-illness. An object of pity, an afterthought, a duty, a good intention never fulfilled.

So, a message to anyone who might be thinking along these lines. I’m the same person I ever was. I just need to behave in a fashion to which you are unaccustomed. I am acutely aware that your relationship with me needs to be much more of a one-way street as my limitations are severe. I would much rather that it was not. I also know that you are exceptionally busy and I have no wish to be the cause of any sorrow for you or rejection for me. That is why I don’t initiate contact.

Without successful relationships though, it is so much harder to recover. ME is a hard mistress: unconditional support, encouragement and love help, they really do. I am hugely grateful for those who offer this, many of whom are in the same boat as me and expend exceptional amounts of their available resources to do so.

If you’re reading this and you know someone with a dreadful illness, pick up the phone, send a text or email or letter. Let them know that they matter; that they haven’t been forgotten about and that you are interested in them, regardless of their debilities. You will do more good that you can ever possibly know.

Leave a Reply

