Ten Top Tips To Try

Standard

I’ve heard the process of recovery compared to the progress of the first rocket to the moon which was only on track for 2% of the time. 98% of the time it was making adjustments. Those adjustments are how we look after ourselves.

The incomparable Toni Bernhard, whose writing you can read here, suggested that we ask ourselves a deceptively simple question: What can I do best now to care for myself? I’ve asked myself that question repeatedly, especially when I know I’m veering off a healthy path. One such time was last night and here are the ten thoughts that came immediately to mind:

1. Limit screen time. I’m such a hypocrite, forever lecturing my children about the perils of such while doing the same myself. It’s not difficult to understand why this is. Particularly when I’m exhausted, my brain screams at me to be entertained and stimulated. Television, Twitter, blogs etc. provide this instantly no matter how flat you need to lie in bed. This creates further exhaustion, boredom and, on occasion, distress.
2. Persist with this blog. It’s both a creative outlet and a method of charting my thoughts and progress that I can look back on. I also hope it’s of use to other folk who might be in a similar position.
3. Keep additional commitments/activities to a minimum and have days where there are none. Under-estimate my capabilities. This week I had visits on three consecutive days, each hugely enjoyable but took a cumulative toll.
4. Ingrain extended daily relaxation practices. These sessions have multiple benefits and, as I’ve said before, are the key tools in my self-repair kit.
5. Stop fretting about events outwith my control. Specifically, the fact that my house refuses to sell.
6. Continue juicing vegetables. I’ve been making a concoction consisting of spinach, celery, cucumber, green apple, lime and ginger. It’s a bit of an acquired taste but I know the concentrated micronutrient content will aid my recovery.
7. Don’t allow myself to become overwhelmed and consumed by the behaviour/reactions of other people. I need to target my energy for healing.
8. Simplify life in every way possible. Have shopping delivered, children help with household tasks, accept that good enough is, well, good enough.
9. Try some gentle stretching. My body can’t cope with much physical activity yet but keeping mobile is important too.
10. Get to sleep at a reasonable hour. Sleep a long, soft sleep and wake refreshed.

I daresay that list will be different the next time I ask myself the question. What would you list right now as the key elements that allow you to live a more comfortable life and/or promote recovery?

Leave a Reply

