A Picture from Polmont

Standard

Bf4kw8fIIAATxGE

Regular readers of my Twitter feed will be aware that I’m in the process of moving home. We’ve lived here for over 11 years and it’s been a nice place in which to bring up children but I’ve not paid it a great deal of notice.

A couple of weeks ago I was standing looking out of my boys’ bedroom window when it struck me, for the first time, just what a diverse and interesting landscape was looking back at me so I snapped the picture above on my phone.

In the very background are hills over in Fife overlooking the Forth estuary. You can just see the river glinting before the industrial magnificence of the Grangemouth refinery and petrochemical plants. Over to the right are the splendid Polmont woods guarding the suburban landscape in the foreground: lots of little, individual fiefdoms.

If you look closely, you’ll see that the sun is shining on parts, rain teeming on others and, just visible, the end of a rainbow. You may see other things that I’ve missed.

So go on, take a good look out of one of your windows today; you might be surprised at what you find!

2 thoughts on “A Picture from Polmont

Leave a Reply

